Cafe Retro

It started with the butter-yellow Kitchen Aid mixer and progressed to perusing Jadite, Swanky Swigs and vintage Pyrex on eBay. And then there’s my boyfriend’s dream of installing a Coca-Cola fountain.

We’re on a mission to retrofy our kitchen, one piece at a time.

Cafe Retro Espressione

 My latest obsession is this cute, sort of robotic Café Retro Espressione Machine I saw at Crate and Barrel. I don’t know if I can justify the cost, though, since I’d probably still go to Starbucks. I’m convinced everything tastes better when someone else makes it.

I’d like to trade my stainless steel fridge for the candy-colored coolers at Big Chill. If you don’t have the money to spring for a restored Chambers or Wedgewood range, how about a “beach blue” Big Chill stove? Or dishwasher?

Big Chill

 Other appliances I’m lusting after include Dualit’s toaster – though, at $240 for a two-slicer, it’s a bit too pricey for me to commit to – Waring’s blender and Typhoon’s kitchen scale.

This Old House

This Old House

This Old House

Oh, yeah, and this is getting more mod than cutesy 50s (and I don’t know where one would fit in my kitchen) but I think these Swedish ericofons are hands down the coolest phones ever.

Ericofon

Leave a comment

Filed under kitchens, retro

Leave a Reply

